Use our toll calculators to learn how much your trip will cost. Calculate tolls for cars, trucks, vans, SUVs, RVs, commercial vehicles and tractor-trailers.
New Hampshire vehicle classes and definitions are shown below, along with information to pay missed tolls.
For toll pass and electronic payment information, see the section about toll passes.
Any driver that uses a toll road in New Hampshire is expected to pay the toll for that roadway. In New Hampshire, the tolls are set by the New Hampshire Department Of Transportation, Bureau of Turnpikes.
See below for additional information about toll classes and paying violations.
If you did not have enough cash, used the wrong lane or have another type of violation, you can pay for the violation online. New Hampshire accepts online toll payments within seven (7) days of a violation.
If your violation happened more than seven days ago, you will have to wait for a toll invoice. The first toll invoice will include a $1.00 surcharge for processing your transaction. If you do not pay a missed toll within 30 days of receiving the first toll invoice, then a second invoice will be issued, with a $1.50 administrative surcharge. If you do not pay your missed toll within 30 days of receiving the the second notice, then a toll violation will be issued, along with a $25.00 fine.
You may dipute invoices and violations, if you wish, by completing sections "B" and "D" of the invoice/violation section of the New Hampshire online payment site.
Make certain you have your violation notice. You will need the violation number to begin the payment or dispute process.
To use the online payment system, you will need your violation number, and your license plate number or toll pass transponder number.
To speak to someone in the E-ZPass Violation Processing Center, call 877-643-9727.
The cash payment system speaks for itself. When you pay by cash, you are responsible for having sufficient cash funds to pay for your tolls while driving on New Hampshire toll roads.
If you are unable to pay your toll, you will receive an invoice for the amount of the unpaid toll, plus an administrative fee.
New Hampshire is part of the E-ZPass system; therefore, you may use an E-ZPass on toll roads in New Hampshire. Any transponder that displays the E-ZPass or IPass logo will be accepted in New Hampshire.
If you have an E-ZPass issued in another state, or an IPass issued by Illinois, you may use E-ZPass lanes in New Hampshire.
Make certain you have sufficient funds on your E-ZPass account to pay for the toll charges you will incur; otherwise, it will count as a toll violation.
This graphic provides only general information about how to count the number of axles on your vehicle. See the information below for detailed information for New Hampshire.
The classification system is somewhat complex in New Hampshire. Classes One (1) through Four (4) are for vehicles with single-tire rear axles only, typically personal cars or SUVs and smaller commercial vehicles.
Classes Five (5) through Twelve (12) are for larger commercial vehicles and box trucks, tractor-trailers, busses, transporters, et ceterra. Any vehicle that has dual-tire rear axles will automatically fall into one of these classes.
Tolls are calculated based on the total number of axles your vehicle has, plus whether it has single-tire or dual-tire rear axles. Any trailers that are towed behind your vehicle will have the axles counted. When you count the axles on your vehicle, be certain to add the number of axles on the vehicle and the trailer to get your total.
IMPORTANT: If your trailer has dual-tire axles, even if the towing vehicle does not, your vehicle should still be classed as a type that is for dual-tire rear axles.
Motorcycles count as a car, including motorcycles with a sidecar. Motorcycles with a trailer would count two axles for the motorcycle, plus the number of axles on the trailer, to get a total.